What is Facebook ads CTR?
Click-through rate (CTR) in Facebook ads is the percentage of times users clicked your ad (link, CTA button, or image) on Facebook, relative to the number of users who viewed it.
This metric indicates how many links clicks you've received on your ad in comparison to the number of impressions your ad received. It is used by Facebook advertisers to understand how their ad is driving traffic to their website and other landing pages.
How to calculate Facebook ads CTR?
To calculate FB ad click-through rate (CTR), divide the ‘number of clicks’ your ad received by the ‘number of users who viewed the ad’ (impressions). The result is multiplied by 100 and expressed as a percentage.
You can easily check the click-through rate of your ad in Facebook Ads Manager.
Formula for calculating Facebook ads CTR
Real-life example of Facebook ads CTR
For example - You are running an ad on Facebook, promoting your micro SaaS business. Now let’s assume your ad was viewed by 10,000 users and 200 of them clicked on your website link in the ad.
Your CTR will be: 200/10,000 x 100 = 2%
What’s considered a good Facebook ads CTR? (benchmark)
A good click-through rate for Facebook ads to aim for is – at least 1%. According to Databox’s benchmark data, the median CTR for Facebook Ads across all industries is 1.54.
According to Wordstream, a good CTR for Facebook Ads averages at around 0.90% across all industries.
It's evident from the above infographic that CTR can vary largely from industry to industry. While sectors such as legal and retail were able to get anywhere up to 1.61% and 1.59%, respectively, the employment and job training sector had the least average of 0.47%.
With that said, you should aim for at least a 0.90% - 1% click-through rate for your Facebook ad.
If it’s less than 0.5%, you reallyyy need to work on your FB ad strategy. And a percentage above 1% means you’re on the right track.
Ways to increase your Facebook ads CTR
- Niche down your target audience: You can't resonate with 5 different types of audiences with a single ad. It’s important to narrow down your target audience to craft more compelling messages that speak straight to your viewers. Read this guide on: How To Zero In On Your Perfect Target Audience
- Use image that speaks volume: Users are 60 times more likely to make contact with a brand that shows up with an image in search results compared to one that doesn't. Use an image that’ll pop out of the feed and compel users to stop scrolling. Your second intent with the image should be – to convey to users what the ad is about.
- Optimize your ad for mobile: In 2022, 62.7% of Facebook.com visits were from mobile. You need to ensure that your ad and CTA buttons are optimized for the mobile experience as you certainly don’t want to lose a large chunk of the audience.